NCMF Scholarship Program

2017 Recipient Presentation (Video)

Scholarship Award Programs

The North Carolina Motorsports Foundation’s mission is to support the racing industry of North Carolina through scholarship awards for students aspiring to a career in the motorsports industry. The Foundation awards scholarships through two programs – the Sam Belnavis Scholarship Award and the General Scholarship Awards.

The Sam Belnavis scholarship is given annually in the amount of $5,000 to a single selected candidate. It is named after Sam Belnavis, a 30-year veteran of the racing industry serving numerous capacities including Marketing Department Manager for Miller Brewing Company, Chief Diversity Officer & Owner-Designate with Roush Fenway Racing.

The General Fund Scholarship Program provides awards of no less than $2,500 per award.

Applicants will be considered for either of the programs.

To be considered for an NCMF Scholarship Award, applicants will meet the following criteria:

  • Entering or currently attending a North Carolina educational institution which may include: Four-year College or University (graduate and post graduate), Two-Year Community College, Technical or Trade School.
  • Aspire to a career in motorsports.
  • Good scholastic standing (2.5 GPA).
  • Essay of no more than 500 words that includes personal background, interests and scholarship need.



  1. Application period for scholarship award opens September 15 and closes October 15
  2. Scholarships announced December
  3. Presentation of Scholarships in January

If additional information is required, contact NCMA / 5555 Concord Parkway South / Suite 335 / Concord, NC 28027 / 704-455-5606 /

NCMF Board

Board of Directors

Chairman of the Board of Directors

Winston Kelley

NASCAR Hall of Fame

Vice Chairman

Ian Prince
Roush Fenway Racing

Brad Bostick
Wells Fargo Bank, N.A

Sam Belnavis


Marjorie Benbow

Moretz Law Group

John Dodson
NASCAR Technical Institute

Steve Earwood
Rockingham Dragway

Lauri Eberhart
 Apollo Sports and Entertainment Law Group

Matt Efird
Robinson Bradshaw & Hinson

Todd English
Roush Yates Engines

Greg Fornelli
SRI Performance

Stock Car Steel And Aluminum, Inc.

Gray Garrison
Bowman Gray Stadium

Tom Grady

Hartsell & Williams, P.A.

Jim Hannigan
Richard Petty Motorsports

John Hondros
Suntrust Banks, Inc.

Chris Kouri

Nexsen Pruet, LLC

Scott Lampe
Hendrick Motorsports

David Morton
Fifth Third Bank

Andy Papathanassiou
Hendrick Motorsports

Karen Ray
BSCI Impact Systems

Patrick Rogers

Wendy Stallings
Tysinger Promotions

Greg Walter

Charlotte Motor Speedway

Pat Wood

Rowan-Cabarrus Community College